Home > All News > News Headline
Holden Motorsport
25 NOV 2018
Red Bull Commodores rise to Championship podium as Lowndes says farewell
Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup have taken out second and third respectively in the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship today, with the series battle coming down to the final race of the season.

A drama-filled penultimate 250 km feature on Saturday saw van Gisbergen awarded the race win, closing the gap to two points behind Scott McLaughlin and making today's race a winner takes all scenario.

That decision was later overturned by the stewards due to a pit lane violation by the #97 and the Kiwi was handed a 25-second penalty relegating him to fifth for Race 30.

David Reynolds and his Erebus Penrite Racing outfit converted a perfect Sunday topping the Armour All Qualifying and going on to win Race 31, the small team's 9th podium and Reynold's third win of the year.

"Really happy to finish on high, our year has been very, very good" Reynolds said.

"Since I joined the team, we have just got better and better, I love it, I love my job now."

At a place where he secured the Championship last year, Whincup drove his Commodore to the limits to finish in third position in the 95 lap finale, adding his congratulations to the title winner.

"We're happy, it's been one of the toughest years we've competed in," Whincup commented.

"It's the biggest prize in Australian Motorsport and I think Scotty deserves his name on it (Champions Trophy)."

Van Gisbergen fought until the end securing a total seven wins and six pole positions throughout the year and taking the fight to his fellow countryman right to the wire, but ultimately falling just short finishing the day in fourth.

"I've enjoyed the fight, I've enjoyed working with these guys all year, yeah, I'm still proud it's still awesome," van Gisbergen said.

"It's a tough one, with that race I just got stuck behind James (Courtney) and I couldn't do anything to get up there, but yeah I'm still happy, it's still cool but yeah I just feel a bit gutted."

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team will make the move back to the front of pit lane in 2019 after sealing the Supercars teams' championship one round ago. Roland Dane's squad, with the new ZB Commodore it developed saw them secure the crown at the ITM Auckland SuperSprint.

Meanwhile, this weekend event marked the end of arguably the greatest era in Supercar history with Craig Lowndes closing the curtain on his fulltime Supercars driving career.

Lowndes celebrates an illustrious career that has seen the Holden hero secure three Championships, seven Bathurst Wins and 107 Race Wins.

On behalf of Holden Motorsport and the entire GM Holden team, thanks Lowndsey!
14 Jun - 16 Jun 2019
Practice 1
Days Hours Mins Secs
  • Friday
    • Practice 1 45 Minutes 12:00 - 12:45
    • Practice 2 45 Minutes 15:10 - 15:55
  • Saturday
    • Practice 3 45 Minutes 10:50 - 11:35
    • Qualifying Race 15 15 Minutes 13:05 - 13:20
    • Race 15 42 Laps 16:15 - 17:15
  • Sunday
    • Qualifying Race 16 20 Minutes 09:25 - 09:45
    • Shootout 30 Minutes 10:45 - 11:15
    • Race 16 70 Laps 13:30 - 15:05

Should Supercars change the kerb strike technology?
Yes - invest in better technology used in other categories
No - Change track designs to use non technical methods (tyres etc)
No - Drivers need to learn the track limits

You must be signed in to cast your vote
Supercar Drivers Championship
1 Scott McLaughlin Ford 1646  
2 Fabian Coulthard Ford 1402  
3 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden 1257  
4 David Reynolds Holden 1220  
5 Jamie Whincup Holden 1168  
Supercar Teams Championship
1 DJR Team Penske 3048  
2 Triple Eight Race Engineering 2425  
3 Erebus Motorsport 2063  
4 Tickford Racing (5/55) 2036  
5 Brad Jones Racing (8/14) 2029  
Supercar Manufacturer Championship
1 Ford 13
2 Holden 1
3 Nissan 0
Contact Us | Donate | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Information | Championship History
Copyright © 2017, Daily Dump. All Rights Reserved.