Home > All News > News Headline
07 OCT 2018
Craig Lowndes steers Holden to victory in fairytale Bathurst 1000
Craig Lowndes has won the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 for the last time as a main-game driver in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

He and co-driver Steve Richards, along with the entire Autobarn Lowndes Racing crew, put in a faultless 161 laps to conquer Mount Panorama in one of the most emotion-fuelled Bathurst 1000 victories ever, to raise the Peter Brock trophy once more.

Lowndes' 2018 win behind the wheel of the ZB Commodore Supercar pushes his victory tally at the Great Race to seven, the equal most with Jim Richards, apart from the late, great Peter Brock, who holds the record with 9 Bathurst 1000 wins.

"That last lap, I've never had such a gap to enjoy across the top of the mountain like that, to enjoy what we just achieved," Lowndes said.

"It was good to have that last lap and that seven second gap ahead of Scotty [Pye] and just really enjoy it."

Lowndes has now conquered the mountain six out of his last thirteen visits, with he and Richards now tasting success twice as a pairing.

"We don't have a bad record here at all, we have won two out the last five, it's been a great partnership. Once we got the lead, of course I was never going to give it up and the last 20 laps, since the last stop, we just tried to keep that gap and it worked out perfectly," Lowndes added.

In what was a stellar day for the Holden Commodore, Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing's Scott Pye and Warren Luff powered their Supercar home in style to claim the second place trophy.

"I was a kid once, I was going for Lowndesy so to be standing up there next to him on the podium, it's a hard feeling to describe," Pye said.

"The team did a fantastic job today, we didn't quite have the pace for Lowndesy but two in a row we've come second now, surely the next one has to be ours, third time lucky!"

For the Red Bull Holden Racing Team it was a mixed Bathurst 1000 but one of great perseverance with Shane van Gisbergen/Earl Bamber finishing fifth and Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell in tenth.

Disaster struck on Lap 40 for the #1 car with a front-right tyre parting ways with the car, which put the Red Bull Holden down two laps.

Despite the huge gap to the leaders both Whincup and Dumbrell pressed on and by Lap 94 were back on the lead lap to eventually finish the 2018 version of the Great Race with a top-10 result.

Both Wilson Security GRM Commodores of Garth Tander/Chris Pither [6th] and Rookie James Golding alongside Richard Muscat [8th] put in superb drives to secure a double top-10 result for the team.

Another Holden team with a solid weekend was Brad Jones Racing with Nick Percat and Macauley Jones powering their Repco Authorised Service Team Commodore to a seventh place result.

The upset of Mount Panorama saw David Reynolds backing up his Bathurst win of last year, to win the Top-10 Shootout and claim pole for the race.

Unfortunately for Reynolds and co-driver Luke Youlden disaster struck when Reynolds was come down with cramps inside the cockpit, which saw the pair slip down the field with an unscheduled driver change late in the race, after leading the Bathurst 1000 the majority of the race.

Over 206,000 screaming fans flocked to the mountain to enjoy what was one of the truly memorable Bathurst 1000 races while fans at home were treated to a Supercars first with the entire race broadcast in 4K on the Fox Sports network.

Round 14 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship takes crews to the Gold Coast 600 for the final round of the Pirtek Enduro Cup on Oct 19-21.
14 Jun - 16 Jun 2019
Practice 1
Days Hours Mins Secs
  • Friday
    • Practice 1 45 Minutes 12:00 - 12:45
    • Practice 2 45 Minutes 15:10 - 15:55
  • Saturday
    • Practice 3 45 Minutes 10:50 - 11:35
    • Qualifying Race 15 15 Minutes 13:05 - 13:20
    • Race 15 42 Laps 16:15 - 17:15
  • Sunday
    • Qualifying Race 16 20 Minutes 09:25 - 09:45
    • Shootout 30 Minutes 10:45 - 11:15
    • Race 16 70 Laps 13:30 - 15:05

Should Supercars change the kerb strike technology?
Yes - invest in better technology used in other categories
No - Change track designs to use non technical methods (tyres etc)
No - Drivers need to learn the track limits

You must be signed in to cast your vote
Supercar Drivers Championship
1 Scott McLaughlin Ford 1646  
2 Fabian Coulthard Ford 1402  
3 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden 1257  
4 David Reynolds Holden 1220  
5 Jamie Whincup Holden 1168  
Supercar Teams Championship
1 DJR Team Penske 3048  
2 Triple Eight Race Engineering 2425  
3 Erebus Motorsport 2063  
4 Tickford Racing (5/55) 2036  
5 Brad Jones Racing (8/14) 2029  
Supercar Manufacturer Championship
1 Ford 13
2 Holden 1
3 Nissan 0
Contact Us | Donate | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Information | Championship History
Copyright © 2017, Daily Dump. All Rights Reserved.