Home > All News > News Headline
Nissan Motorsport
04 SEP 2017
Nissan reveals classic Calsonic livery
Nissan's world-famous Calsonic GT-R R32 race livery will make a welcome return to the race track when it features at this month's Wilson Security Sandown 500.

At the annual 'retro round' for Supercars, the #23 NISMO Nissan Altima Supercar of Michael Caruso and Dean Fiore will race in the legendary blue colours of the Calsonic-sponsored GT-R - a car that dominated Japanese Group A racing in the early '90s.

Run by Team Impul in the Japanese Touring Car Championship, the Calsonic Nissan GT-R R32 took an impressive 15 victories, as well as the 1990 and 1993 titles. In addition, the famous R32 model holds the remarkable record of remaining undefeated in all of its 29 races, from its debut at the start of the 1990 season through to the end of the Group A era in 1993.

With the Calsonic Nissan finding increased global fame thanks to its popularity in the Gran Turismo video game, the Nissan GT-R R32 also achieved considerable success in Australia winning the Bathurst 1000 twice and the Australian Touring Car Championship on three occasions.

"Nissan has achieved a lot in global motorsport and there are so many great liveries to choose from," said Michael Caruso.

"The Calsonic livery is one of Nissan's most famous and perfectly represents its racing heritage.

"The original Calsonic GT-R was so successful on the track. A perfect record is unheard of in motorsport, so this definitely elevates this car to legendary status.

"Mark Skaife explained what it was like to drive and it sounded wild. What a beast!

"I hope I can emulate its success at the Sandown 500."

The original Calsonic GT-R resides in the Nissan Heritage Museum, in Japan.

September's Wilson Security Sandown 500 is the first event of the Supercars' endurance season, followed by the Super Cheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and the Vodafone Gold Coast 600, both staged in October.

Drivers and co-drivers with the most points over these three events are presented with the Pirtek Enduro Cup a reward for being the most consistent team.
24 Nov - 26 Nov 2017
Days Hours Mins Secs

In a time certain race finish, should the mandatory fuel drop regulation be changed?

You must be signed in to cast your vote
Supercar Drivers Championship
1 Fabian Coulthard Ford 1330  
2 Scott McLaughlin Ford 1320  
3 Jamie Whincup Holden 1314  
4 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden 1152  
5 Chaz Mostert Ford 1026  
Supercar Teams Championship
1 DJR Team Penske 2685  
2 Triple Eight Race Engineering (88/97) 2466  
3 Prodrive Racing Australia (5/6) 1848  
4 Garry Rogers Motorsport 1614  
5 Prodrive Racing Australia (55/56) 1581  
Supercar Manufacturer Championship
1 Ford 8
2 Holden 4
3 Nissan 0
Contact Us | Donate | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Information | Championship History
Copyright © 2017, Daily Dump. All Rights Reserved.